Eagle Book Series

Resulting from a collaboration among the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Native Diabetes Wellness Program (Wellness Program), the Indian Health Service (IHS) Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, and the Tribal Leaders Diabetes Committee (TLDC), the Eagle Book series is an award-winning series of books aimed to teach children to combine modern nutrition with traditional values and themes to promote healthy living and reduce diabetes.

The series grew out of a single book, Through the Eyes of the Eagle, that had been written by Georgia Perez, who served as a Community Health Representative for 19 years in Nambe Pueblo, New Mexico, on the Native American Diabetes Project for the University of New Mexico. The content was woven through the curriculum of the “Strong in Body and Spirit” program in the late 1990s. Ms. Perez found that when children heard the story of the eagle, they listened intently. Afterward, they were eager to take the diabetes-prevention information back to their parents and grandparents to share what they had learned.

The role of the eagle as “teacher” and the story’s success led to the creation of a series of children’s books whose purpose is to convey to children healthy ways of living. All of the stories reflect long-held values of American Indian / Alaska Native people – respect, gratitude, and generosity – while teaching the universal wisdom of healthy eating and physical activity. Throughout the series, a young Native boy and his friends learn about healthy habits from Mr. Eagle, Miss Rabbit, and Coyote.

Vividly brought to life by the colorful illustrations of talented Native American artists Patrick Rolo (Bad River Band of Ojibwe, Wisconsin) and Lisa A. Fifield (Oneida Tribe of Wisconsin, Black Bear Clan), these stories by Georgia Perez have become the award-winning Eagle Book series.

Eagle Books for ELEMENTARY SCHOOL Children (Second and Third Grade):

These books are large-format books, ideal for use in a reading circle or group or reading with a child.

  1. Through the Eyes of the Eagle,
  2. Knees Lifted High,
  3. Plate Full of Color, and
  4. Tricky Treats.

Eagle Books for MIDDLE SCHOOL Children (Ages 10 to 13):

  1. Coyote and the Turtle's Dream

The purpose of the Eagle Books is to help children understand several important messages about diabetes and being healthy:

  • Many Americans, including Native peoples, no longer eat traditional diets or practice vigorous physical activity.
  • Type 2 diabetes can be a consequence of this lifestyle change.
  • Returning to healthy diet and physical activity can help prevent diabetes.
  • Friends and families can help each other to prevent diabetes by eating healthy foods and staying active.

Teachers, Librarians, School Nurses, Nutritionists, Pediatricians and Community Health Specialists:

You will want to download this FREE, companion educational guide and workbook with lesson plans and additional information on preventing diabetes and promoting healthy living in children: Download the "Eagle Book Series: A Guide for Educators and Communities." 

0 items
Page 1 of 0
Back to Top